top of page

Teaching ESL and EFL Overseas

I heard it would be a good career move to work overseas now that ESL and EFL teaching are booming in Asia. As the post-modern world has come to embrace the World Englishes, almost every nation is making sure that their children will be educated by the best English teachers around. It is an advantage for native speakers like me to apply on international preschools in Singapore as schools really prefer teachers who come from the US, UK, Canada, Australia, New Zealand. Fortunately, my Canadian and British accents will be of good use.

While I am no English major, I was able to take different standardized tests and even took a short TESOL course. I am quite sure this is another advantage should I really want to pursue a career in any international preschool in Singapore. But I think I would finish first this master’s degree I am currently taking in Childhood Psychology so I do not have to worry about it once I land a job. My best friend Tara is now there in a very reputable preschool in Singapore, and she has been asking me to send her my resume and transcripts. She said she will make sure I get in even though the competition can be very steep. Teaching can be very daunting. It is a vocation more than a profession. I know this because I served as a high school teacher in a nearby public school for 2 years, and I know how hard it is for the teacher to stretch her patience. I do not think teaching itself is the tiring aspect of the job. It is the preparation of lesson plans, materials, the checking of papers every quarter, and enforcing discipline to the kids. If you are not careful, it can get the best of you as you are dealing with youngsters who are just beginning to learn and discover the wonders of life.

One of the most difficult experiences I had before was this 14-year-old girl who comes to class just to sleep. When it’s time to recite, she leaves the room and won’t return for several days. Apparently, she is an athlete who only gets to rest in her class periods. I tried talking to her, and even sent her to the guidance counsellor, but she always finds a way to brush us away. She never finished high school and run away instead.

As much as I want to make sure that my students will live a full life, the reality is they have a mind of their own. They will make decisions for themselves. Anyway, I am still yet to decide if I am going to Singapore next year after I finish my thesis. But I am excited to start a new life abroad. It will be my first time in Asia, and I definitely want to explore the other countries too. I think I might get some more relevant workshops and seminars to prepare for my next journey, and I couldn’t wait to see my future pupils.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page